Best Red Dot???

Started by quickster47 †, May 24, 2010, 04:43:41 AM

L.O. Little

Hey guys, thought I'd bring this back up.  I've been shooting my modded 2240 quite a bit the last few weeks with a $30 Leapers red dot. After seeing these two threads:

http://www.crosman-air-pistol-owners-forum.com/board/index.php?topic=4203.msg41693#msg41693

http://www.crosman-air-pistol-owners-forum.com/board/index.php?topic=3717.msg36362#msg36362

my interest in the Ultradot Matchdot is piqued again. Opinions, pics of Ultradots (Matchdot or any of the other Ultradots) on 13xx or 22xx guns would be appreciated. I'm especially interested to hear if these are parallax free.
Lynn

breakfastchef

Though I am pretty new to the air pistol thing, I have tried both red dot and scopes on my 1377 and 2300KT pistols. For accuracy, the scope wins; hands down. I paid less than $40 for an NCStar Pistolero Series scope and it works great. Alternately, I have an NCStar Red Dot that is also quite accurate. At this point of my air pistol experimentation, I have not found a reason to purchase any sighting device much above $40. These devides work very well and shots group nicely.

My 2300KT came with a Williams Notch sight. It is very accurate. That said, getting the front and rear sights to consistently align properly is not easy. While I blame it on failing eyesight, I think it also has to do with practice. Repeatability is necessary for accuracy. For those wishing to have instant accuracy gratification, red dots and pistol scopes are excellent.
Larry

Capt. Thomas