Newbie question on pumping 1377

Started by Maury, December 12, 2017, 10:00:00 PM

Maury

Tried to post here for the first time yesterday and must have done something wrong, so trying again: Hello to all!

I am brand new to this entire pursuit: got my first 1377 a few months ago and have been hooked ever since.  Gun is vintage 1994 and originally belonged to a relative; I doubt that it has ever been serviced and definitely never modified, but seems to be quite sound.  After many hours of YouTube-ing videos on the subject, I have managed to replace the plastic trigger with a metal one (polished and buffed it, too!) and replaced the sere spring. No big deal for most of you guys, but I am pretty proud!

Anyway, I do have a  question in regard to pumping.  I am in pretty good shape, but I noticed that after 2 pumps, I need to work lots harder for a third pump.  Seems like over 4 pumps would be putting much too much strain on the components.  I tried replacing the pivot pin with a well-fitted machine screw and that seemed to make it a tad easier, but I still hesitate to pump it more than 3 times.

So is this to be expected and not a worry or an indication that there is something that needs to be done?

Thanks!

foxwalker

That's a tough one because it's an older model..but I would pump it 5 times shoot it into a peace of wood..them pump it 10 times  shoot it and see if the pellet go's deeper...or you can dry fire it .just listen to the sound ..you did not mention oil..I hope your oiling it with pellet gun oil or 30 non detergent motor oil...just pump it your not going to hurt it  :-*

Maury

Thanks for the reply.  You also mentioned oil for my gun.  I do not have any of the Crosman brand right now, but I do have Tuf-Glide liquid and a small container marked 'silicone grease' that I got on line specifically for flashlight o-rings.  Would you recommend either of those?

foxwalker