Steel breech??

Started by Nightshade, November 06, 2011, 08:34:55 PM

Nightshade

I'm new to the Crosman pistol line so I'll ask the newbie question here.......

What advantages does the steel breech have for the 1377 pistol over the factory breech?  ??? ???

Is it worth the extra $30 for the casual plinker like me?  ??? ???

TIA.  8)

Bentong

Make your shooter's barrel more secured and shoot straighter and can put a scope or other sights. With OEM plastic breech, you can wiggle the barrel in all direction. :-*

JEBert

QuoteIs it worth the extra $30 for the casual plinker like me?
Nightshade,
Only you can decide that.  Most of us have gone that route because of the reason's Bentong stated.  Your Crosman pistol is pretty accurate for what it is but even though the rear sight is adjustable, it is not very fine-tuneable.
The reason for this forum is to help each other get the most out of their gun.  Anything from Mild to Wild!
Before you spend more than a few bucks at the hardware store, I would suggest doing two things.  2.  A little trigger work to get rid of excessive play, smooth, and lighten things in this area.  You should be able to get down to about a 2 lb trigger pull without any gritty feel and eliminate the play and over-travel.  2.  If you don't get acceptable groups, try polishing the muzzle crown or re-crowning the muzzle.
As for spend more money on it ask yourself this"
What sort of plinker are you?
Do you want your gun to be more accurate?
Do you want to mount a scope?  A red dot sight?  A $60 micro adjustable rear sight?
The main question for you to answer is: Do I want to and can I afford to spend $30 + shipping + another $20 to $50 or more for a scope or red dot sight on this hobby?
It has been worth it for me.  I enjoy my guns when I can but don't ask me how much I spent on the first gun I modified because I don't know and I am not going to add it up cause I don't want to know.
Cheers,
Jerry
Jerry
NRA Life Member