Variable pumps, variable aim?

Started by CRex, April 11, 2015, 05:59:36 AM

CRex

Hello, I have a couple of questions about a problem I've been noticing.  It might be equipment related, but I'm pretty new to airguns, so maybe it's also something I'm doing and I'm missing something basic and easy.

Last year, I got a 2289 Backpacker.  I was using the iron peep sight and got a few chipmunks with it - the first was a head shot at about 9 yards in the shadows.  The others were all pretty quick, though not necessarily as definitive as that first one, and I missed some altogether.

For this season (and with my eyes not being great in the first place) I decided I'd put a scope on.  That seemed like a pretty straightforward way to ensure better accuracy.

So, I got the steel breech, and put on a UTG Bugbuster AO 3-9x32.  (I pretty quickly realized that I know about as much about scopes as I do about airguns, maybe less, lol.  :P)

What's happening is that with 3 to 5 pumps I can pretty much hit a soup can 10/10 till the cows come home at about 12-15 yards or so.  Starting at about 7 pumps however, and definitely by 10, the pellets start to go high (but still group consistently), so that if I aim a couple of inches below the soup can I can usually hit it.  Not very scientific, and definitely not ideal.

I'm mainly shooting the hunting pellet the gun came with, though this happens with the Destroyers and hollowpoints too.

So my first question I guess is, did I maybe screw something up when I put the steel breech on?  Or is what's happening completely normal at this distance - more pumps, more power = flies straighter/further?  I just wasn't sure if the lower pumps would account for the pellet dropping, and I wouldn't have thought at 12 yards or so that it would be that noticeable.  Any idea on what's happening?