Question regarding CO2 and performance

Started by Warpspasm, July 22, 2012, 06:26:32 PM

Warpspasm

I'm new to pistol airgunning, so I'll probably have a number of questions in the next few weeks. Here's are my first few.

How many shots can I expect to get from a 12g cartridge in a 2240?

Do the cartridges leak air when they're partly used and in the pistol overnight?

Does performance drop off as the cartridge empties?  If so, after how many rounds do you normally see a drop off?

When you shoot fairly rapidly, the cartridge tube gets colder. Does this cause the pressure to decrease? I noticed a drop off in elevation after about 25 rounds fired fairly close together. It seemed to come back after I let the pistol shoot for a couple of minutes.

That'll do for now.  :)

Dolor Temporarius
Gloria Aeterna
Cicatrices Virginibus Placent

1377x

i havent done a round count yet
the co2 does not leak out i have had the same cart in my gun for a week now poa/poi still the same
after x number of shots the poi changes then the cart gets low
when my poa/poi changes i change my cart
closed mouths dont get fed

RC1947

I'd estimate around 40 shots from a 2240.  I'd suggest putting a drop of Pellgun oil on the seal of the CO2 canister occasionally to prevent leaks.  No gas should leak if the gun is stored for a while.  I find that the last 2 shots, before the canister is out of gas, drop in elevation, signaling for fresh CO2.  Rapid firing does create a cold situation which can effect accuracy.  Excellent pistols. RC

Tater

Is there a .177 equivalent to the 2240 and would the CO2 performance be the same?
Jerry

NW Chicago suburbs

BDS

Quote from: Tater on July 22, 2012, 09:05:25 PM
Is there a .177 equivalent to the 2240 and would the CO2 performance be the same?

2300KT or 2300S and T models.