barrel length & muzzle brakes how do they effect sound and performance?

Started by kb2rocket, August 19, 2012, 07:02:05 PM

kb2rocket

I am very new to this so sorry if it has been covered
I will be getting a 1377 and I want it to be as quiet and accurate as possible for backyard target plinking no living things
and I also want it to be as quite as possible so as not to give my neighbors anything to be alarmed about
I understand that the less I pump it up the quieter it will be what can I do beyond that?
I also read something about a de pinger to quiet the action its self are these available for the 1377?
thanks

sbcrockett

well, I'm exactly in your shoes and I'll let you know (hopefully with video and audio measurements) what a longer barrel and brake do as soon as I get my order from TKO!

I ordered a 16 inch barrel and 6.5 inch brake from Mike almost 2 weeks ago. The longest 10 days of my life, BTW...

From what I've read, most people that own CO2 pistols think that their cartridges are empty, it makes such a difference quieting things down. And, I'm hoping it will be a noticeable change for my 1377 as well. Mike recommended a 16-18 inch barrel for a carbine setup, but offers up to 24 inches. Or you can stay on the short side, but you need at least 11-12 inches to be able to fit the brake.

stay posted, I should have some numbers and sound clips this week (fingers crossed)!

jdub

Quote from: kb2rocket on August 19, 2012, 07:02:05 PM
I am very new to this so sorry if it has been covered
I will be getting a 1377 and I want it to be as quiet and accurate as possible for backyard target plinking no living things
and I also want it to be as quite as possible so as not to give my neighbors anything to be alarmed about
I understand that the less I pump it up the quieter it will be what can I do beyond that?
I also read something about a de pinger to quiet the action its self are these available for the 1377?
thanks