Scope Zeroing Questions

Started by bildio, March 05, 2011, 11:13:38 PM

bildio

I'm a beginner, at least as far as scopes go.

I'm trying a Crosman CenterPoint Adventure Class 2-7x32mm riflescope on my 2300S.

I'm using a bull's eye type target for zeroing.

I'm shooting 2 inches low at 25 feet. The instructions say 1 click at 150 feet adjusts 1/8th inch. So, to I figure I need to turn the elevation knob 100 clicks. Seems like a lot.

I know some will say why use a scope at 25 feet? Why for me is due to poor eyesight.

Is this just the wrong scope for short distances, i.e., 25 - 100 feet?

Is there a limit to the number of clicks a scope can be adjusted, & will the adjustment knob stop turning when the limit is reached or will the knob keep turning without moving the tube, or ---?

Last question. Assuming I can focus a 7x, is there an accuracy advantage to using this magnification at close range, i.e., since the target appears larger?
Bill

mr007s

Are you shooting from a rest? If so, fire off three rounds as smooth as you can. If they group well and you are still 2 inches low adjust the elevation turret a half round and repeat the 3 shot group. Notice the distance between the 2 groups. This will give you an idea  on what the adjustments are doing. Once you get her dialed in closer you can worry about 1 or 2 clicks at a time on the  adjustments.

I feel the higher magnification will also show every shake and wiggle. Use only as much as you feel you need.

Crosshairs

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLirsAFpsfE#]The Easy Way to Sight-In an Air Rifle Scope[/url]      This might help
                                        Mike
Treat people the way you want to be treated, Life will be so much better !!!

eric