MUZZLE VELOCITY QUESTION

Started by Themajickman, November 24, 2011, 04:39:30 PM

Themajickman

I'm relatively new at this so please bear with me. I have a 2300 KT (.177) on order for my wife with a 10.1" barrel. She'll be using Crosman High Velocity Lead Free 4.0 grain pellets for both target and rat control. Can anybody give me an educated guess on what muzzle velocity (FPS) I can expect with this combination?
Crosman 2300KT: .177  10.1" :  Black muzzle brake: Long Steel breech & Bolt - Shoulder Stock
Ruger Mark I: .177 Break Barrel pistol
Smith & Wesson 78g
Crosman Phantom 1000

I'm paralyzed from the neck down so my wife does all the shooting! I'm still the ringleader (voice control technology rocks!) and keep getting myself new toys for her to shoot.....I live my life through her. :-)

1377x

i cant give you a velocity answer
but can tell you those pellets arent known for their accuracy.if you tried them and acurracy is there then that will the first i have read.
fpe is more important than velocity for pest control
closed mouths dont get fed

Themajickman

We haven't tried the pellets yet so I can't speak to the accuracy issues. Do you have any suggestions on which pellets would be more suitable? Thanks
Crosman 2300KT: .177  10.1" :  Black muzzle brake: Long Steel breech & Bolt - Shoulder Stock
Smith & Wesson 78g
Crosman Phantom 1000

I'm paralyzed from the neck down so my wife does all the shooting! I'm still the ringleader (voice control technology rocks!) and keep getting myself new toys for her to shoot.....I live my life through her. :-)

1377x

i know there are some posts here about velocity
i can see what they are putting out and get a better answer for pellet choice
i am sure someone else will chime in with suggestions also
so one way or another you will soon get a answer!

Themajickman

Thanks for the information, in the meantime I'm going to do some searching and see what I can come up with.
Smith & Wesson 78g
Crosman Phantom 1000

quickster47 †