Rear sight......An addition to my steel breech project.

Started by Oldnshakey, May 17, 2012, 03:30:43 AM

gdm620

Great work on the sight Oldnshakey.  :-*  It is fun doing your own work.  Machining is not as easy as one might think untill you learn the tricks of the trade then it get easier.  I'm still learning.  Never had any classes on it but have been around some people who do machining for a living.  I have learned alot from them.  The biggest thing with machining is the right tooling.  That is the difference from a fair part to a great part when done.  And of course the knowledge to use the tooling.
Gary
Crosman 1322
Benjamin Marauder Pistol
.177 PCP target pistol
2300kt with LW barrel

cheewee

ok oldnshakey back to it i want to see how you finish this up :)
great work by the way :-*
jeff

people take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness.
just because they are not on your road doesnt mean there lost.

arkmaker †

Great work!! Looks like you will have yourself a really nice site  :-* :-*
I Am A Natural Mad Air Gunner  -  Full Of Hot Air & Ready To Expel It Quickly!

114 Rifle, 2240XL Pistol, 1861 Shiloh Pistol, 357 Pistols, Titan GP Rifle, PM66 Rifle, 2400KT .177 LW Carbine, CZ T200 Rifle, Benjamin Discovery .177 Rifle, Hammerli 850 Air Magnum in .22

Oldnshakey

Thank you Gary, Jeff and arkmaker.  I did get some more work done today on the sight.  It is still rather rough, but it is functional and ready for smoothing and bluing.  BTWm Cheewee, great explanation and picture for the "climb" milling.  Climb milling can be done on a machine such as mine, and also on heavier machines.  I have used the climb milling with very light cuts and with the gibs snugged up on the tables.  It is said to give a smoother finish cut by not dragging chips under the cutter to mar the finish. 

Anyway, here are a few more photos of the sight, still a work in progress.  Lots of smoothing to do.