Two new 2240's

Started by ingrahal, December 24, 2012, 05:49:12 PM

ingrahal

Hello All, I'm new to air pistols but have owned rifles nearly all my life. I got the idea of setting up a silhouette range in the back yard for my son and I to have some fun. I went shopping for suitable pistols, one for each of us and ran across the 2240. At first glance I dismissed it as too cheap to be accurate, but then started reading reviews and was impressed. Convinced they would work I ordered thru Amazon because I'm a Prime member. The first day was very windy and I wrote off the bad groups to the weather. Second day was calm so I set up my bench, shot bags and Chrony to do some serious testing. The two guns performed nearly identically. With the Premiere 14.3g pellets velocity was 400 fps and at 10 yds the groups were around 2". Not happy with this at all I thought maybe it was me. So I moved indoors and put the pistols in a vise. I got the same results. Since I was using a new tin of pellets I got out the Marauder rifle and as usual was punching the same hole at 30 yds. At this point I probably should have returned them, but the tinkerer in me couldn't do that. I found the necessary instructional videos and tore them down. Did not find anything obvious, but did clean and lubricate everything. Same performance as before. So here I am looking for advice. I know that there are tons of after market upgrades but that's not really the direction I want to go. I would rather get these shooting good and get back to the business of shooting silhouettes not tinkering with the guns. Thanks for any help.

Art

WyoMan

Try some different pellets. I have shot CP .22 brown box 14.3 thru high velocity AG's and they group well but thru my 1322's at about 400 fps looks like a shot gun pattern - don't know why  ??? could be head size, pellet too hard for lower pressure  ???
The soft JSB exact give me one hole groups in both .177 and .22 with 13xx :)
Wyo
Welcome to your life :)